Developed btw 1865 and 1875. Generally accepted in France by 1890.

Leading figures: Monet, Manet, Sisley, Renoir, Degas.

8 Impressionists Exhibitions between 1874-1886.

Upon the death of Gustave Caillebotte, a painter and close friend of the I, he left his collection to the state. The bequest was received in part after several years. 20 works refused: 8 Monet’s and 11 Pissarro’s and then only put part on view.


Bazille, Frederic
Caillebotte, Gustave
Cassatt, Mary
Cezanne, Paul
Degas, Edgar
Fantin-Latour, Henri
Gonzale’s, Eva
Guillaumin, Armand
Manet, Edouard
Monet, Claude
Morisot, Berthe
Pissarro, Camille
Renoir, Pierre-Auguste
Sargent, John Singer
Sickert, Walter Richard
Sisley, Alfred
Tissot, James
Whistler, James Abbot McNeil


Bernard, Emile
Denis, Maurice
Gauguin, Paul
Van Gogh, Vincent
Seurat, Georges
Signac, Paul

The Year 1886 brought Arthur Rimbaud's Illuminations, the arrival in Paris of Vincent Van Gogh and Paul Gauguin first stay in Brittany. This was a significant turning point marking the birth of Neo-Impressionism, "a scientific development of I", and Symbolism in opposition to it.



1)    Encyclopaedia of Impressionism. Bernard Denvir ed. Thames and Hudson, 1990.
2)    Fauvism. Sarah Whitfield. Thames and Hudson, 1991.
3)    Praeger Encyclopedia of Art Luc-Reinhardt. Praeger Publishers, 1971.